47 cities join the UNESCO Creative Cities Network.

December 10, 2015
Saskiak Hondarribia, the experience.
December 17, 2015

47 cities join the UNESCO Creative Cities Network.

NESCO Director-General, Irina Bokova, has announced the designation of 47 cities from 33 countries as new members of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network. The results of this year’s Call bears witness to the Network’s enhanced diversity and geographical representation with 22 cities from countries not previously represented.

The UNESCO Creative Cities Network is pleased to welcome the following cities within its seven creative fields (Crafts and Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Media Arts and Music):

  • Adelaide (Australia) – Music
  • Al-Ahsa (Saudi Arabia) – Crafts and Folk Art
  • Austin (United States of America) – Media Arts
  • Baghdad (Iraq) – Literature
  • Bamiyan (Afghanistan) – Crafts and Folk Art
  • Bandung (Indonesia) – Design
  • Barcelona (Spain) – Literature
  • Belém (Brazil) – Gastronomy
  • Bergen (Norway) – Gastronomy
  • Bitola (The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) – Film
  • Budapest (Hungary) – Design
  • Burgos (Spain) – Gastronomy
  • Dénia (Spain) – Gastronomy
  • Detroit (United States of America) – Design
  • Durán (Ecuador) – Crafts and Folk Art
  • Ensenada (Mexico) – Gastronomy
  • Gaziantep (Turkey) – Gastronomy
  • Idanha-a-Nova (Portugal) – Music
  • Isfahan (Iran [Islamic Republic of]) – Crafts and Folk Art
  • Jaipur (India) – Crafts and Folk Art
  • Katowice (Poland) – Music
  • Kaunas (Lithuania) – Design
  • Kingston (Jamaica) – Music
  • Kinshasa (Democratic Republic of the Congo) – Music
  • Liverpool (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) – Music
  • Ljubljana (Slovenia) – Literature
  • Lubumbashi (Democratic Republic of the Congo) – Crafts and Folk Art
  • Lviv (Ukraine) – Literature
  • Medellín (Colombia) – Music
  • Montevideo (Uruguay) – Literature
  • Nottingham (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) – Literature
  • Óbidos (Portugal) – Literature
  • Parma (Italy) – Gastronomy
  • Phuket (Thailand) – Gastronomy
  • Puebla (Mexico) – Design
  • Rasht (Iran [Islamic Republic of]) – Gastronomy
  • Rome (Italy) – Film
  • Salvador (Brazil) – Music
  • San Cristóbal de las Casas (Mexico) – Crafts and Folk Art
  • Santos (Brazil) – Film
  • Sasayama (Japan) – Crafts and Folk Art
  • Singapore (Singapore) – Design
  • Tartu (Estonia) – Literature
  • Tongyeong (Republic of Korea) – Music
  • Tucson (United States of America) – Gastronomy
  • Ulyanovsk (Russian Federation) – Literature
  • Varanasi (India) – Music

Launched in 2004 and now comprising 116 Member Cities, the UNESCO Creative Cities Network aims to foster international cooperation with and between cities committed to investing in creativity as a driver for sustainable urban development, social inclusion and cultural vibrancy.

“The UNESCO Creative Cities Network represents an immense potential to assert the role of culture as enabler of sustainable development. I would like to recognize the many new cities and their countries that are enriching the Network with their diversity” declared the Director-General, as UNESCO celebrates in 2015 the 10th anniversary of the Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions.
The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development adopted by the international community in September 2015 highlights culture and creativity as key levers for sustainable urban development. The Network will continue to serve as an essential platform to contribute to the implementation and achievement of this international agenda.

The next meeting of the Creative Cities Network is scheduled for September 2016 in Östersund (Sweden).

Comments are closed.